Odisha To Get National Award For Food Grain Production

National Award For Food Grain Production

Odisha,February 7, Abhijit Saha: Krishi Karman Award is a national award and is given to states for giving their efforts and contribution towards raising the country’s food grain production. Krishi Karman Awards was first introduced in the year 2010-11 for recognising the meritorious efforts of the States in production of food grains. The award is being given to states with the aim of encouraging and motivating the states to improve production of rice pulses, wheat and coarse cereals and total food grains.

Krishi Karman Awards are given to the States in respect of production of total food grain in three categories. The first category is Large – where the production should be more than 10 million tonnes, the second category is Medium – where the production should be between 1 and 10 million tonnes and the third category is Small – where the production is less than 1 million tonnes.

Odisha is also selected to get this National Award. This award will be given away by President Pranab Mukherjee next week to the selected States for giving their best performance in raising food grain production in 2012-13.

Madhya Pradesh will get this award in large category for producing more than 10 million tonnes of total food grain, Odisha gets the award in medium category for producing 1 to 10 million tonnes of food grain and Manipur gets in small category for producing less than 1 million tonnes of food grain.

Four other awards are also given to the States in respect of individual production of rice, pulses, wheat and coarse cereals. In this group Chattisgarh will get the award for rice production, Jharkhand will get for pulses production, Bihar for wheat production and Andhra Pradesh for coarse cereals.

Condemnation prizes will also be there for West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Meghalaya and Tripura for overall food grain production.

Assam will also get condemnation prizes for pulses, Maharashtra for rice and Punjab and Haryana for wheat.

This award will be received by the State Chief Ministers, Agriculture Ministers and other State officials for their respective states.

Posted by on February 7, 2014. Filed under Regional. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.