Nitish Kumar to take oath as Bihar CM for the 5th time today

Patna(web team): The stage is set for the oath taking ceremony of Chief Minister designate Nitish Kumar on Friday in the presence of important leaders and chief ministers of several states.

All arrangements have been made for the function at the Gandhi Maidan at 2 PM, Patna Divisional Commissioner Anand Kishore, who is supervising the arrangements, said.

Kishore said considering arrival of so many VIPs, more than 2,000 security personnel would be deployed at the venue.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had accepted invitation from Nitish Kumar but would not be able to attend the function due to prior engagements. He has deputed Parliamentary Affairs Minister Venkaiah Naidu to represent the Union Government at the ceremony.

The official guest list has names of nine chief ministers including West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, her Delhi counterpart Arvind Kejriwal and UP CM Akhilesh Yadav. Six chief ministers of Congress ruled states would also attend. They are Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah, Assam CM Tarun Gogoi, Sikkim CM P K Chamling, Manipur CM O Ibobi Singh and Arunachal Pradesh CM Nabam Tuki.

11:45 AM

BJP leader Shatrughan Sinha will also not the able to attend his good friend’s swearing-in ceremony.

Sinha tweeted:

Will miss the ceremony, but Nitishbabu & Laluji, I remain a well-wisher, admirer and friend…and remember, once a friend, always a friend.

Posted by on November 20, 2015. Filed under Regional. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.