Voting begins for first phase of Bihar assembly elections

After high pitch bitter campaigning which saw Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the rival camps led by Nitish Kumar and Lalu Prasad holding a string of rallies, voting in 49 seats of Bihar Assembly elections in the first phase of the five-phase began on Monday morning.

A total of 1,35,72,339 electorate are eligible to decide the fate of 583 candidates for the 49 seats in 10 districts in the first phase of elections.

Out of a total of 583 candidates in the field, there are 54 women nominees.

BSP, which does not have much influence in Bihar, has fielded a maximum of 41 candidates among the 49 seats. BJP has fielded 27 candidates in the 49 seats followed by JD(U) 24, RJD 17, LJP 13, Congress 8 and Rashtriya Lok Samata Party 6 and Hindusthani Awam Morcha 3.

Left front is trying to make significant inroads in the poll on the basis of combined strength of six parties – CPI, CPI-M, CPI-ML, Forward Block, SUCI (C) and RSP.

While CPI has fielded 25 candidates, CPI-M has fielded 12 in the first phase.

07:19 AM
Voters lined up outside a polling station in Samastipur (Bihar)

Voters lined up outside a polling station in Samastipur (Bihar)


Posted by on October 12, 2015. Filed under Regional. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.